Modules and trainers

Details of areas covered and recommended trainers for each of the NSPPP modules are provided below.


Module 1: Actioning policy through sustainable procurement

Module 1 lasts one day and covers:

  • Introduction to sustainable procurement;
  • Government sectors drivers and the impact of sustainable procurement;
  • Introduction to the sustainability prioritisation methodology;
  • Applying and evaluating the prioritisation methodology.

Materials for trainers available to download…

Recommended trainers for module 1:

Name Organisation Sectors Email
Graham Anderson NOMS Central Govt graham.anderson@noms.gsi.gov.uk
Janet Barrett JB Associates LA, HE janet.barrett1@ntlworld.com
Fay Blair Global to Local LA fay.blair@globaltolocal.com or fayblair@hotmail.com
Charles Burt Olive Consultancy LA, HE, health cburt@consultolive.com
Stuart Davies Action Sustainability LA, HE, health stuart@actionsustainability.com
Phil Duddell Olive Consultancy LA, HE, health pduddell@consultolive.com
Peter Faill Durham County Council LA peter.faill@durham.gov.uk
Matthew Galvin GLA Group LA matthewgalvin@tfl.gov.uk
Bob Garside FCO Central Govt Bob.Garside@cesg.gsi.gov.uk
Katherine Glazebrook NHS Health katherine.glazebrook@nhs.net
Lee Jackson Northumberland County Council Health lee.jackson@northumberland.gov.uk
David Jukes NHS Health david.jukes@ppa.nhs.uk
Bill Kirkup CAG Consultants Health, Central Govt, HE, LA bk@cagconsult.co.uk
David Luckin F Squared (ARUP) LA DavidLuckin@fsquaredltd.com
Gary Mankelow FCO Central Govt gary.mankelow@fco.gsi.gov.uk
Majken Moller LRS LA, HE, health Majken.Moller@lrsconsultancy.com
Barbara Morton Sustainable Procurement Ltd LA, HE, health barbm110@aol.com
Alan Munro Newcomen Consultancy Central Govt, HE, LA alan.munro@newcomen.net
Graham Randles LRS LA, HE, health Graham.Randles@lrsconsultancy.com
Tim Rudin GLA Group LA timrudin@tfl.gov.uk
David Thomas NHS Health david.thomas@bsmhft.nhs.uk
Ed Walsh ESPO LA e.walsh@espo.org
Jane Waring Ammatis LA, HE, health janewaring@ammatis.co.uk
David Wright Plan A Associates LA davidwright@planaassocs.co.uk

Modules 2 and 3: Assuring sustainability

Modules 2 and 3 cover the evaluation of bids and supplier development; module 3 requires previous attendance at module 2.

Module 2 lasts one day and covers:

  • Taking action at the appropriate stage of the procurement and commissioning cycle:
    • Identifying needs and assessing the sustainability risks;
    • Developing the specification;
    • Supplier selection and inviting bids.

Module 3 lasts one day and covers:

  • Taking action at the appropriate stage of the procurement and commissioning cycle:
    • Bid evaluation;
    • Contract management;
  • Monitoring and reporting;
  • Stakeholder engagement;
  • Developing policy, strategy and action plans.

Materials for trainers available to download…

Recommended trainers for modules 2 and 3:

Name Organisation Sectors Email
Graham Anderson NOMS Central Govt graham.anderson@noms.gsi.gov.uk
Janet Barrett JB Associates LA, HE janet.barrett1@ntlworld.com
Fay Blair Global to Local LA fay.blair@globaltolocal.com or fayblair@hotmail.com
Charles Burt Olive Consultancy LA, HE, health cburt@consultolive.com
Stuart Davies Action Sustainability LA, HE, health stuart@actionsustainability.com
Philip Duddell Olive Consultancy LA, HE, health pduddell@consultolive.com
Peter Faill Durham County Council LA peter.faill@durham.gov.uk
Matthew Galvin GLA Group LA matthewgalvin@tfl.gov.uk
Bob Garside FCO Central Govt Bob.Garside@cesg.gsi.gov.uk
Katherine Glazebrook NHS Health katherine.glazebrook@nhs.net
Lee Jackson Northumberland County Council Health lee.jackson@northumberland.gov.uk
David Jukes NHS Health david.jukes@ppa.nhs.uk
Bill Kirkup CAG Consultants Health, Central Govt, HE, LA bk@cagconsult.co.uk
David Luckin F Squared (ARUP) LA DavidLuckin@fsquaredltd.com
Gary Mankelow FCO Central Govt gary.mankelow@fco.gsi.gov.uk
Majken Moller LRS LA, HE, health Majken.Moller@lrsconsultancy.com
Barbara Morton Sustainable Procurement Ltd LA, HE, health barbm110@aol.com
Alan Munro Newcomen Consultancy Central Govt, HE, LA alan.munro@newcomen.net
Graham Randles LRS LA, HE, health Graham.Randles@lrsconsultancy.com
Tim Rudin GLA Group LA timrudin@tfl.gov.uk
David Thomas NHS Health david.thomas@bsmhft.nhs.uk
Ed Walsh ESPO LA e.walsh@espo.org
Jane Waring Ammatis LA, HE, health janewaring@ammatis.co.uk
David Wright Plan A Associates LA davidwright@planaassocs.co.uk

Module 4: Carbon literacy for procurers

This module lasts one day and covers:

To develop an understanding of:

  • Basic principles of Green House Gases (GHGs) and climate change;
  • Common terminology used;
  • Low carbon and renewable energy;
  • Principles of carbon accounting, including CO2 equivalence, Global Warming Potential (GWP) and application of carbon conversion factors;
  • Different types of carbon footprinting, including:
    • Organisational carbon footprinting;
    • Product / service carbon footprinting;
  • How the terminology and principles covered in the course can be applied in a procurement context.

Materials for trainers available to download…

Recommended trainers for module 4:

Name Organisation Sectors Email
Fay Blair Global to Local Health, Central Govt, HE, LA fayblair@hotmail.com
Lauren Charlton Home Office Central Govt lauren.charlton@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk
Aisha Chavda Cornwall Development Company Health, Central Govt, HE, LA achavda@cornwall.gov.uk
Matt Galvin Transport for London LA matthewgalvin@tfl.gov.uk
David Jukes NHS Health david.jukes@ppa.nhs.uk
Bill Kirkup CAG Consultants Health, Central Govt, HE, LA bk@cagconsult.co.uk
David Morgan Cornwall Council Health, Central Govt, HE, LA dmorgan@cornwall.gov.uk
Alan Munro Newcomen Consultancy Central Govt, HE, LA alan.munro@newcomen.net
Mike Ralph Croydon Health Authority Health mike.ralph@croydonhealth.nhs.uk
Wendy Rowlands Home Office Central Govt wendy.rowlands@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk
Colin Stuart NHS Supply Chain Health colin.stuart@supplychain.nhs.uk
Brian Terry Cornwall Development Company Health, Central Govt, HE, LA goterrydev@aol.com
David Wathey Department of Health Health, Central Govt David.Wathey@dh.gsi.gov.uk
Jane Waring Ammatis Health, Central Govt, HE, LA anewaring@ammatis.co.uk

Module 5: Sustainable food procurement

This module for catering managers and food procurement officers in the public sector covers:

  • An introduction to sustainable food procurement;
  • Identifying sustainable priorities;
  • Issues and Actions:
    • Pre-procurement phase;
    • Procurement phase;
    • Contract and supply chain management;
    • Related sustainability issues.

Materials for trainers available to download…

Recommended trainers for module 5:

Name Organisation Email
Fay Blair Global to Local fay.blair@globaltolocal.com or fayblair@hotmail.com
Charles Burt Olive Consultancy cburt@consultolive.com
Lauren Charlton Home Office lauren.charlton@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk
Bill Kirkup CAG Consultants bk@cagconsult.co.uk
Barbara Morton Sustainable Procurement Ltd barbm110@aol.com
Tim Rudin GLA Group timrudin@tfl.gov.uk
Ann Stevenson The Environment & Sustainability Partnership ann.stevenson@eandsp.co.uk
Christine Storry Bristol City Council Christine.storry@bristol.gov.uk
Jane Waring Ammatis janewaring@ammatis.co.uk

Page last modified: 25 March, 2014

You may also be interested in:

Partners