You are here: Sustainable Development in Government > News archive > More Low Carbon Communities

More Low Carbon Communities

Another 12 communities from across the UK have been awarded up to £500,000 each to pioneer innovative green measures through DECC‘s Low Carbon Community Challenge.

The communities’ planned initiatives range from various enewable energy systems (including solar hot water, air-source heat pumps, geothermal, biomass, residual heat technologies and hydropower) to a nut grove carbon sequestration project, zero carbon cafe, new allotments and a biodiesel pump.

The following communities have been awarded funding, in addition to the ten phase 1 winners:


  • Hook Norton, near Banbury, Oxfordshire
  • Ashton Hayes, near Chester, Cheshire
  • Easterside in Middlesbrough
  • Halton, near Lancaster
  • Exmoor National Park in Somerset and Devon
  • Whitehill-Bordon in East Hampshire
  • Ladock and Grampound Road in mid-Cornwall
  • Northern Ireland

  • Ballymena
  • Camphill Community Glencraig
  • Wales

  • Cwmclydach, nr Pontypridd, South Wales
  • Awel Aman Tawe Community Wind Farm in Upper Amman and Swansea Valley, South Wales
  • Glogue, Hermon and Llanfyrnach, nr Preselli Hills, Pembrokeshire

Further reading

We haven't yet received any comments on this page.

Do you have a comment on this page?

All comments are moderated: we will not publish irrelevant or inappropriate comments. Please note that we require your email to validate your message and will not publish it or use it for any other purpose.